How brain injury can lead to homelessness – one survivor’s story

Broken Brain - Brilliant Mind

How brain injury can lead to homelessness – one survivor’s story.

Just came across this, thanks to Twitter. Good to be aware.

My first brain injury happened when I was six-years-old.

When I was an adult, I acquired my second brain injury from a car accident. One year later, I was homeless and living in a shelter.

After my accident, I was no longer able to look after myself the same way as I had before. The hospital was more interested in healing my broken bones than looking at my brain. The law was more interested in upholding the law, and my boss at the time was more interested getting me back to work, rather than making the necessary accommodations for this to be possible.

Godfrey Dubon
Godfrey Dubon

I spent days, weeks, months and years lost without any direction. I had memory problems, a hard time keeping jobs and no…

View original post 135 more words

Leave a Reply

